About Anurag
New Politics for New India


Positions Held:

•    Former President, BCCI
•    President, Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association
•    President, Himachal Pradesh Olympic Association
•    Vice President, Indian Olympic Association
•    Vice President, Hockey India
•    Secretary General, Hockey Himachal Pradesh
•    Executive Member, Asian Cricket Council

He has been a member of:

•    Punjab Ranji Trophy team that won All India Championship
•    U-19 cricket team that played against the England team at Delhi and Patiala
•    Punjab U-19 cricket team that won all India championship
•    Guru Nanak Dev University team that won all India Championship

He has successfully led:

•    Captained North Zone U-19 Cricket team that won all India championship
•    Captained Punjab U-16 cricket team that won all India Vijay Merchant Trophy

He has promoted major events:

•   Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association --successfully hosted three day practice match between Pakistan and Board President XI teams held from March 3-5, 2005
•   Organized Mohd. Nissar Trophy of the BCCI in HPCA Cricket Stadium at Dharamshala, H.P. where champions of India (UPCA) and Pakistan (Sialkot) played a four day match.
•    Successfully hosted a four-day match between India “A” and South Africa “A” teams from 19-22 September 2007.
•    Successfully hosted 4 IPL Seasons
•    Successful hosted the first India Vs England ODI in Dharamshala at the HPCA Cricket Stadium
•    First Indian MPs Vs UK MPs Cricket Match at HPCA Cricket Stadium Dharamshala
•    First Mumbai Heroes (Bollywood Stars) Vs Indian MPs match at HPCA Cricket Stadium Dharamshala

Developmental work & achievements:

•    Built an International Level Cricket Stadium at Dharamshala, with a total investment of approx. more than Rs.60 Crores. This Ultra-Modern Cricket Stadium also has facilities like a Gymnasium, Indoor Practice Area and Sauna, etc.
•    One of the best Indoor Cricket Stadium and rehabilitation center is under construction with an approximate cost of Rs. 7 Crores
•    Planning to build 12 national level cricket stadiums at each district head-quarter with an approx. budget of Rs. 50 crores earmarked for the same in the coming three years
•    Built five District level stadiums have been built at Amtar (Hamirpur), Bilaspur, Una, Pragati Nagar (Shimla), Laal Pani (Shimla)

Feathers in his cap:  

•  Unanimous choice for the post of Presidentship of HPCA in July 2000 at a tender age of 25 years.
•  Became the youngest member of National Junior Selection Committee of BCCI in the year 2001 when he was 26 years old.  He is the proud selector of players like Irfan Pathan, Parthiv Patel, Dinesh Kartik, Suresh Raina, R.P Singh, Piyush Chawla, Robin Uthapa, Ishant Sharma and Rohit Sharma etc.
•  Since year 2000, he is the youngest president of any state cricket association affiliated with BCCI.
•  Appointed Vice Chairman of National Cricket Academy (NCA) of BCCI along with Mr. Sunil Gavaskar as the Chairman & Mr. Brijesh Patel as the Director.
•  Appointed as Manager of the Indian Cricket Team that participated in the ICC Champions Trophy held in Sep.-Oct. 2009 at South Africa.

Please Sign In to Add Comments LOGIN



Office of Anurag Singh Thakur

Address : Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha, 14, Janpath, New Delhi - 110001

Phone : (O) 011 2378 2365, (F) 011 2378 2368

Thank you for committing to vote! If you do not have a voter registration and need help in registering,Please click on this linklogin





  • Anurag Thakur Joins Territorial Army


What sector do you want the government to focus on in Budget 2015?