• March 05, 2018

BJP Triumphs in Tripura & Nagaland

The BJP now governs 21 states, bringing 70 % of India’s population under its leadership. The last time any political party had such a large majority across India was in 1993 when the Congress held 16 of India’s then 26 states.

In Meghalaya, too, Congress was denied a place in government. Conrad Sangma’s National People’s Party (NPP), the BJP, with two MLAs, brought together regional parties UDP, HSPDP and the PDF, to form the next government. All these parties, including the BJP, would be a part of the new rule.

When the BJP came to power in 2014, it governed only 7 states. Whereas the Congress ruled 13 states in 2014, it now has only Punjab, Karnataka, Mizoram, and Puducherry. Over 67 % of MPs who were members of the Lok Sabha that year belonged to the 21 states where the BJP now rules, singly or in an alliance.

India’s growth over the next 10 years will be led by 8 high-performing states — Gujarat, Haryana, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand. These states, according to McKinsey & Company’s new report, ‘India’s Economic Geography in 2025: States, Clusters and Cities’, will account for 52% of incremental GDP between 2012 and 2025. Six of these states are currently ruled by the NDA.



Office of Anurag Singh Thakur

Address : Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha, 14, Janpath, New Delhi - 110001

Phone : (O) 011 2378 2365, (F) 011 2378 2368

Thank you for committing to vote! If you do not have a voter registration and need help in registering,Please click on this linklogin





  • Anurag Thakur Joins Territorial Army