• December 25, 2017

Next CM of Himachal Shri Jairam Thakur

After deliberating for six days, the BJP has chosen, MLA Jairam Thakur as the new chief minister of Himachal Pradesh. Observers from the centre, Union Ministers, Nirmala Sitharaman and Narinder Singh Tomar, were present at the meeting of the BJP Legislature Party. They deliberated with a BJP core group, where the leading candidate put forward by them was Shri Thakur.

“There was no other name moved after MLAs were informed about Jairam Thakur’s name having been cleared by the central parliamentary board and BJP president Amit Shah,” Minister Tomar said.

Shri Jairam Thakur is known as a “gentle leader” and has generally kept away from the limelight.  The 52-year- old has been elected five times as MLA. He functioned as Rural Development and Panchayati Raj minister in ex-CM Dhumal’s government from 2008 to 2012. He was BJP unit chief (Himachal) from 2006 to 2009. The new CM comes from a modest background and had to pay for his own college education.

Governor of Himachal, Acharya Devvrat, has appointed Shri Thakur as Chief Minister and asked him to form the government. PM Modi and BJP President Amit Shah will attend the swearing-in ceremony to be held on Dec 27 at Shimla’s Ridge Maidan.



Office of Anurag Singh Thakur

Address : Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha, 14, Janpath, New Delhi - 110001

Phone : (O) 011 2378 2365, (F) 011 2378 2368

Thank you for committing to vote! If you do not have a voter registration and need help in registering,Please click on this linklogin





  • Anurag Thakur Joins Territorial Army